Six Disqualified Congress MLAs Join the BJP in Himachal Pradesh

Six disqualified Congress MLAs, Himachal join BJP, Independent legislators, Impacting state politics.

Attention India
4 Min Read

Six disqualified Congress MLAs—Sudhir Sharma, Inder Dutt Lakhanpal, Ravi Thakur, Chetanya Sharma, Rajinder Rana, and Devinder Kumar Bhutto—made a calculated decision to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), causing a major upheaval in the state’s political landscape. This decision has changed the political landscape in the state and caused discussions about party realignments and power shifts, especially in light of the resignation of three Independent legislators.

Disqualification and Party Switch:

Six disqualified Congress MLAs in Himachal Pradesh have made headlines by joining the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), marking a dramatic political shift in the state. Due to their defiance of a party whip during a crucial legislative session, the MLAs in question—Sudhir Sharma, Inder Dutt Lakhanpal, Ravi Thakur, Chetanya Sharma, Rajinder Rana, and Devinder Kumar Bhutto—faced disqualification on February 29. Their disobedience to party directives—more precisely, their attendance in the House and their vote in support of the Himachal Pradesh government during a budget and cut motion—led to this decision.

Delhi Induction Event:

Notable individuals including Union Minister Anurag Thakur and former Himachal Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur attended the Delhi induction ceremony for these former Congress MLAs joining the BJP. This incident highlighted the defection’s strategic importance and its possible influence on the state’s political system. This move’s timing, coming just after their disqualification, points to a deliberate attempt to affiliate with the BJP.

Criticism of the Congress Government:

In the meantime, the Anurag Thakur-led BJP leadership embraced the former Congress members, highlighting how their presence would strengthen the party’s position. The state’s Congress administration came under fire for not living up to expectations, which in turn caused a great deal of unhappiness among the general public. Anurag Thakur further emphasized that these politicians’ endorsement of the BJP in the most recent Rajya Sabha election was a sign of the public’s general disapproval of the Congress.

Resignation of Independent lawmakers:

Three Independent lawmakers who had backed the BJP candidate in the Rajya Sabha elections left the legislature concurrently with these events. The resignations of Hoshiyar Singh from Dehra, Ashish Sharma from Hamirpur, and KL Thakur from Nalagarh were due to disrespect and challenges they faced while working in their constituencies. They declared their intention to become members of the BJP, citing their deliberate decision to side with a party that they believe would recognize their contributions.

Legislative Strength Reduction:

As a result of these political ploys, the 68-member House now has 59 legislators, with the BJP having 25 MLAs and the Congress owning 34. The political landscape in Himachal Pradesh is further complicated by the impending possibility of June 1 by-elections for four Lok Sabha seats and six assembly seats.

Consequences of By-Elections:

Last month, the BJP, supported by these nine MLAs, won the state’s lone Rajya Sabha seat, throwing the Congress government led by Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu into disarray. Despite Sukhu’s seeming self-assurance, it is still clear that the BJP wants to defeat his government in by-elections. There is a belief that these victories would encourage other lawmakers from the ruling party to defect to the BJP, thus undermining the stability of the Sukhu-led administration.

All things considered, the latest political events in Himachal Pradesh highlight how fluid state politics are and how political parties use calculated risks to increase their share of the vote and influence.


Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply